1. Maltodextrin is a polysaccharide that is used as a food additive. A polysaccharide is a type of carbohydrate.
2. It appears as a white powder.
3. Maltodextrin is produced from starches of corn, wheat, potatoes or rice.
4. Its flavor can be slightly sweet or almost flavorless.
5. Maltodextrin is used as a bulking base for artificial sweeteners, for example in Jell-o it is used in conjunction with Aspartame and Acesulfame Potassium. It is also the bulking agent in Splenda.
6. It is also used as a thickener for soups, gravies, and salad dressings.
7. The plant source of maltodextrin in products is a pain point for people suffering from celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Wheat derived maltodextrin may contain traces of gluten. Other than this issue, maltodextrin is considered a safe product.
Help us test our new food comparison tool: alpha.fooducate.com